gitaneusa.com Forum Index Register FAQ Memberlist Search

gitaneusa.com Forum Index » Vintage Gitane » Gitane Interclub '77?
Gitane Interclub '77? 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:06 pm Reply with quote
noosantz
Greetings to everyone- new to this site and first post. I've been reading the info here on this forum for the last several days trying to gain a little info in an attempt to identify a recent find (and hopefully get a little knowledge out of it too. Recently found a nice little bike at a local estate sale, looking extremely neglected and unused. I've always been a sucker for this kind of stuff, so it came home with me for a serious bath. Smile
Turns out that underneath the layers of grease and dust, a pretty nice vintage Gitane was hiding. I'm not a professional restorer, but I do like to clean vintage finds up and make them useable again and I'm pretty happy with the results. Kinda glad for the grease and dirt, kept most of the chrome intact Wink
Needless to say- LOVE the bike!! Handles and rides great! Really lightweight for a steel bike. I'm fairly new to road riding and only have experience with the aluminum frames. Unfortunately it is just a little too small for me Sad After riding it, would love to have one that fits, so I'll either be swapping for one in my size or sell and buy one in my size. I'm 5'10" and after measuring this looks like maybe either a small 52 or more likely a 50. OK, enough rambling- back to the issue:

Can anyone give me a little info as far as model/year? I will list what I can and add a few pics-

Huret shifters and derailleurs

Mavic Module E3 wheels

"Honeycomb" rear dropout

Normandy hubs (stamped 09 77)

Serial number on frame also has a 77 in it, not sure if that is relevant

Simplex front dropouts

Mafac Racer brakes and levers

3ttt stem, but no name visible on bars

Bocoma lugs

Unsure of crankset- input? Laughing

Guess pics would help

Seat tube decal is kinda chewed(previous owner attached a BikeGuard to it)